Theater can improve your career performance

Hi everyone,

I know it has been like forever since I post here. I don’t know if I told you guys this but I am taking two additional classes which mean not much time free. As you can imagine, I am supposed to be doing work right now and I guess you can say that I am procrastinating. 

I have been doing some creative stuff recently and I want to share some of them.

As you probably know if you follow my blogs I was going to travel to Boston for a conference. I haven’t had that much fun in a while. I liked Boston so much, it remains me a little to Washington D.C. However, I think that people in Boston are way nicer or perhaps it was in the area that I was located. People open the doors for you and take the time to say thank you if you do it the other way. It feels like the east coast but not with that much rush that you see in DC. 

One of the things that I liked about the conference is that we were taking communication skills workshops from an assistant professor in the school of Film, Dance and Theatre. He is excellent and he makes us exploit different ways that we can communicate that we didn’t even think possible by making games and improve.

Screen Shot 2017-04-13 at 12.16.52 AM

I think it was great and I can’t reiterate more the importance and the value that you will get from taking theater classes. 

In our second day of the workshop we were encourage to go to the conference and make contact and talk to people. You may say well talking to people is super easy. However, imagine that you are an inspiring actor and you meet a Hollywood actor and he is talking with another Hollywood actor or one that appear in good movies but directed by a channel and you are not quite yet there, you might feel intimidated. That was how this conference felt at first. I am a graduate student and there were these amazing scientists some even with Nobel prizes and you don’t know how to introduce yourself. You have these inner debates, do I talked science to try to impress him/her or should I just be myself and act the way I am with my friends. 

Screen Shot 2017-04-13 at 12.36.20 AM

Having these games makes us be looser and relax and be confident with being ourselves when we meet this type of people. It went super well even one member of the group did a pitch to a TV show. That was amazing! 

So, if you have time enroll in a theater class or just participate in plays or do improve. This will help you greatly in your communication skills and how to adapt to different circumstances which will help you in any career that you have.

With that being say: have fun and just be yourself!

Continue being inspired and inspiring others 

-R

 

Responder

