Explore your creativity through cooking

Hello everyone!

Hope you all had a wonderful Easter weekend. I apologized if you were expecting a post but I was enjoying the time with my family. Today, I wanted to talk about how you can be creative in anything that you do and one of those things are cooking. For those of you that know me, know that I love to cook and not that much to do the dishes.  I usually eat only fish as a meat but recently I have being in my parents’ house and I ate everything which is obviously not good for me but they can get quite offended if you don’t eat what they cook. Anyways, I have being looking at new recipes that I read and I try to do it. In my country right now the Turkish culture and series are very popular. I like Turkish and Mediterranean food because it taste so fresh and doesn’t have so many additive. I made some tziky sauce and tahin sauce. Sorry I didn’t took a picture and they are almost done so I have to make it again soon, but once I made it again I will put the pictures.

These are the recipes:

Tziky sauce is a Greek yogurt base sauce and is good for anything, you can use it as a salad dressing, to calm hot dishes providing a fresh taste and also for greasy meat because it calm down those flavors and you will not feel like it was a heavy dish.

People make the sauce as they like it, this is probably not the original way but is still taste good and is healthy.

  • Cucumber (I used the small ones because the seed are not that big and is ok if you don’t remove it, I think they are call English cucumber)
  • salt
  • 1 garlic (mince)
  • Mint (chop)
  • Plain Greek yogurt ( if you don’t have the Greek yogurt, jut use the normal one)
  • 3-4 drops of lemon

Peel the cucumber and grind it and put salt to it to remove the excess of liquid. Leave it in salt for 15-20 min then removed the excess of liquid then add the rest of the ingredients and enjoy.

Tahin sauce is used in Turkish and Mediterranean food to add to hummus and other recipes. You can use this sauce for smoothies, substitute for peanut butter and also to add some nut flavor to your dishes.

  • Sesame seeds
  • Olive oil
  • Water
  • 3-4 drops of lemon
  • Pinch of salt

With a pan, toast the sesame seed for 5 to 8 min at medium to high temperature until you see a slight change in color and in the blender or food processor add all the ingredients and blend. The amount of the oil and water that you put depend on your preference and the consistence that you prefer, if you want to be a more loose sauce or want a butter texture. There are people that doesn’t like to add oil and want to be more healthy you can also do it by just using water. What I suggest is that if you want to eat it alone put some honey on it before serving that will create a creamy texture and better flavor. (I used orange blossom honey)  🙂

I also want to share Alex French Guy Cooking youtube channel. He is super funny and always try to gives what he called cheats, which make a little twist on dishes that we all know and also present it on an easy way. So check him out!! I will try to replicate some of his dishes with my twist soon and post and let everyone know how it went.

Also, I have a little collection of tea and in the past I saw some recipes that use tea to cook. I will try some of them and in my Friday post and I will let you all know how it went.

 

If you know these recipes or trying knew recipes yourself please share I will like to know if you like them or try yours.

 

Continue being inspired and inspiring others

-R

Responder

